My first (of three) weeklong experiments starts on Wednesday. This is one that I’m in charge of since I was silly enough to write its proposal. Plus deadlines for 4-5 conferences and the next cycle of APS proposals is fast approaching. Being a worrywort, my mind has been darting around lot…so it’s wonderful that I have a ‘little’ 14×8 plot in a courtyard of the chemistry building at Argonne. It’s kind of a nice location since it’s sheltered from the throngs of wildlife at Argonne (it’s built on a nature preserve), gets tons of sun, and has access to a hose. This morning I spent over an hour in our burgeoning jungle, putting in the last plants and weeding like a mofo. It’s really peaceful to go in there really early and weed, and I love watching everything get bigger each visit. In case you’re wondering here’s what Andrea and I have planted:

  • Tomatoes: Sungold (cherry), amish paste, green zebra, big boy, sugarsweet (cherry), brandywine, Andrea’s mystery farmer’s market tomatoes
  • Peppers: Yellow bell, cayenne, pimento, habenero, marconi, chocolate beauty
  • Eggplant: Japanese, black beauty, white
  • Herbs: Thyme, rosemary, oregano, basil, mint
  • Melons: superstar, cantaloupe, watermelon
  • Rest: Broccoli, okra, swiss chard, mixed lettuce, carrots, sweet potatoes, zucchini, cauliflower, pickling cucumbers

I’m really looking forward to digging into that produce, but it will likely all ripen over three wonderful days in August. I’ll try to take a picture of it tomorrow so you can see what all the fuss is about.

