argonne_deer.jpg

I finally got a picture of the deer on the campus at Argonne.  Yes, they’re white.

stm.jpg

Last Friday I started working with Paul and Voya on experiments involving an electron microscope.  We tried some low energy ion scattering (LEIS) then and we’ll do a little x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) tomorrow.  Working with an electron microscope makes me glad that I ended up doing most of my work with x-rays where we can do thing in atmosphere and can live with a little shmutz on the surface.

manbag.jpg

…and lastly: I purchased a Jack Spade laptop bag this weekend–which was bit of a splurge–but I really like it.  I actually made the ridiculous argument in my head that I had to get it in February since I get paid each month.  Makes me feel grown up, yet trendy.  I’ve been carrying it from room to room this weekend since it’s too cold to walk anywhere outside. (40 below windchills–blegh!)

