peppers.JPG

Pickled some of my favorite peppers, cherry bombs.  These are fairly potent with a ton of flavor and are flesh enough to make a good pickle.  I made a simple brine with a little garlic and peppercorns.  I would’ve thrown a couple bay leaves in if I had any.   Eggplant, tomatoes, and bells are still plentiful and cheap so I made more of that caponata I raved about last week.  This time I used a can of generic, chopped calmatas and it is was just ok.  Well, it was pretty good, but apparently olives matter a lot with that stuff.

I also broiled a slew of chicken breasts (rubbed with allspice, chipotle, cumin, thyme, oregano, garlic, salt&pepper, and olive oil).  I love my gas broiler..it’s sort of an upside-down gas grill without the mess associated with upside-down gas grills.  Ok, I got to find something to do.  It’s a ridiculously warm Saturday night in Chicago ferchrissakes.

dinner100607.JPG

