At long last–here are 69 pictures from our trip to Chicago. Thanks to our Andrea for getting those set up and adding spiffy captions!

What did I miss? …on Friday I made some crabcakes and a salad and brought some beers over to Matt and Julie’s house. I owed them since they’ve been driving me to work (and I like to cook for people). I finished the night with bananas spiked with cachaca. Julie took to calling it bananas fister.

On Saturday I biked a zillion miles all over flat, flat Chicago culminating in a hilarious evening at The Brauhaus for a traditional Oktoberfest with a bunch of nerdy Reedy’s. There I received an honorary doctorate to go with my smoked pork chop and liter of this beer. Drunk people in lederhosen, st. pauli girls, a polka band, a packed dance floor, and I forgot my camera! D’oh! On the way to the beer hall I picked up some used books, including a pretty 1927 edition of Dorothy Parker’s Enough Rope (for $4) to cheer me up. Never read her? Here’s a taste:

Razors pain you;
Rivers are damp;
Acids stain you;
And drugs cause cramp;
Guns aren’t lawful;
Nooses give;
Gas smells awful;
You might as well live

