Ok, it’s been a while, but in my defense, my defense is in ❤ weeks (no, that’s not a heart, or butt-cone or whatever…) and I’ve been back and forth between Argonne for job interviews and a recent conference. I did manage to pop a couple a pictures along the way…

mono.jpg

This is a photo of the two-crystal monochromator APS’ new microprobe beamline. Since the beam is being focused to ~10 nm across, any jiggle can be pretty detrimental–hence this mono has crystals only 5 mm apart, with a flexure coupling to really cut down on any extraneous motion.

ducktaco.jpg

Here’s a picture of an open-faced duck sandwich with caramelized onions, tomatoes and goat cheese with a side of wilted beet greens and zucchini. I made three sandwiches for my lunch ‘bunch’.

juliesnewoffice.jpg

Here’s Julie in her new office pretending like she owns the ring. She’s now in charge of safety protocol for any new equipment being installed at APS, which has much better hours (and pay) than a beamline scientist. Good thing ‘the beast’ was built before she started..that thing’s a deathtrap.

kensnewride.jpg

As you might recall, the main mode of transportation inside the ring are trikes. Someone (Ken) must’ve gone off the deep end with this one. Yikes.

timsposter.jpg

note.jpg Here’s me with my poster at the Argonne user’s meeting. Somehow, they managed to lose my abstract, so I wasn’t included in the handouts and I didn’t have an assigned spot at the poster session. I made do, I guess.

