I seem to get most of the medical conditions that my dad had at one point. For instance, he used to get migraines in high school and college that later became cluster headaches (a.k.a the ‘executive headache’) in grad school. Sure enough, I used to pretty regular migraines that have now become less frequent, but worse when they do show up. I had a bad one the other night stuck behind my right eye. I felt like my head was going to explode, and sure enough part of it did: I popped a blood vessel in my eye. I guess it will heal…but yikes! I hope I don’t go blind before the headaches run their course. My dad claims that they go away after turning 30..

In less gory news…Andrea complains that I whenever we go to the video store that I fawn over every other movie, saying ‘oh man, that’s like the greatest movie, ever!’. So I threatened to write down a list of my favorite movies ever…which is a little disarming since I hardly watch movies with the frequency that I used to…and that several of my friends are complete movie nuts…but I am incapable of working on the dissertation tonight, so here goes: top ten, no particular order:

…huh. I just noticed that there are recorders in the beginning of Stairway to Heaven. Sounds like alto, but…(after some googling) John Paul Jones did the solo, so it must’ve been a bass recorder…or apparently an overdubbed four-parter. Huh. Apparently Bruce Springsteen, Brian Jones, and other pop luminaries. Where was I?

  • Tampopo: yes, a food movie. But also a kinky, western-influenced comedy of sorts.
  • Chungking Express: while we’re in Asia. This movie kind of blew me away the first time I saw it. Kind of sparse, but affecting. I like it’s sort of split in two parts…speaking of movies loosely split in parts…
  • Blue, White, Red: Let’s count this as one movie. I really liked Kieslowski’s Dekalog too, but I thought it wasn’t as consistently amazing.
  • This is Spinal Tap: Why I don’t own this movie is a bit of a mystery to me. It’s one of those few movies that ages so well. The anticipation for the joke is almost as good as the joke now. For some reason though, I can’t get into any of the other Christopher Guest movies.
  • City of God: so gorgeous-looking I could watch it without subtitles, but it has a cracking story too. The documentary on the dvd’s very cool too. I want to check out the sequel that was done as a series.
  • Hoop Dreams: I just switched out Casablanca for this one. I’ve read that this is now mandatory viewing in some high schools. That makes me happy.
  • 12 angry men: I’m just a bleeding liberal, aren’t I? No, this movie’s just really good and inspiring.

Close: To Kill a Mockingbird, Double Indeminity, Alien, Lantana, Treasure of Sierra Madre, Casablanca, Spirited Away, Thin Blue Line, pretty any much Akira Kurosawa, Taxi Driver…and many that I’m forgetting right now.

